Date night clutch

I’ve been needing a clutch for a long while now.  Not only for formal events but for date nights when I don’t have to pack a bunch of junk with me.  I wanted something I could toss my small wallet, sunglasses, keys and phone into.  Instead of trying out a tutorial (which sometimes can be super time consuming to figure out), I just bought the Jennifer clutch pattern.

Untitled

Instructions were clear and easy. The shape of the bag is great.  I think the next time I may omit the flap and put in a zipper as it feels a bit odd to just have a magnetic snap holding my items secure while something dangles from my wrist.

Untitled

The size is perfect though. Just big enough for my needs and it takes such little fabric.  A great way to showcase a scrap.  This fabric is from the Joel Dewberry Sparrows collection.  I had intended it for a lickety split bag, but I cut the pattern out the wrong way (the birds were upside down — whoops). I saved it though, knowing that I may be able to use the botched pieces eventually!

I took today off from work so now that I’ve got some sewing out of the way, I’m headed to yoga, and then some shopping and then maybe a trip to the pool is in order. It’s so much more fun to go when I don’t have to prevent someone from drowning.

Comments

  1. Great clutch! But I’d also be a little wary of a flap with nothing more than a magnetic snap. I prefer a zip myself!

Leave a Reply

