Mental Health Improvement Conference 2013 (summer edition)

Why hello, it has been a while. Apologies. I’ve been really flippin busy.

But good news readers! I got to go on a vacation!!! Without my husband or kids!! And I wasn’t SICK.  Yahoo!

My friend Ashley (who had twin boys almost a month after I had Ingrid) wanted to get away, and she didn’t have to do much arm twisting to get me to agree.  So we gathered up three of our other BFF’s and headed to Fenwick Island, DE.  We rented Ashley’s nanny’s ‘beach’ house…which isn’t really close to the beach but it is a far larger (and nicer) house than any of us live in currently.  It was in a gated and planned community with great amenities, fantastically green lawns, a superb swimming pool…and a beach…which I never got to see.

I arrived on Thursday AM since I needed some serious alone time. So it was just me and Betty in this ginormous house for nearly 36 whole hours.

2013-06-06 18.19.31

Betty loves road tripping

It was fantastic.  I listened to Pandora and I ran around like this the entire time:

2013-06-07 07.03.21

Not homemade; but I will use them to draft my own pattern…stay tuned…

But I did that for a reason…with the exception of sleeping I seriously sewed most of these 36 hours. And as any seamstress knows, you try on things a lot so after a while I was like WTF am I doing putting my clothes back on when I’m here alone in this giant house??!

In-between sewing I did some needed research. I tested out the pool to make sure it was safe and habitable for my friends/MHIC conference attendee’s.

2013-06-06 14.41.18

the sacrifices I make for my friends…

I also had to do some much-needed shopping so I had to study and make a list,

2013-06-07 19.53.54

and then go shopping,

2013-06-07 20.43.24

and since they got stuck in the most insane traffic of all time on the Bay Bridge due to Tropical Storm Andrea I did some more (very late night) sewing so that I could stay awake til their midnight arrival Friday night.

2013-06-07 21.59.41

In addition to an  unfinished dress for Syd (me and elastic shirring do not get along) the main results of my Friday rainy day sewing was another Darling Ranges dress.  I did some different adjustments to this one and it fits much better than my last one. I may drop the neck line a bit, but for the most part this dress makes me happy and is super comfortable.  This time I took it in via the bust darts instead of the side seams/shoulders so it’s not so tight around my armscye.  Those snaps though…holy hell even with snap pliers they are buggers to get on!

2013-06-07 16.42.44

Darling Ranges
Fabric: Amy Butler Midwest Modern Optic Blossom in Linen

By the time my friends did arrive they were so stoked to see what I had accomplished that they insisted on trying it on.  Goes to show you that this Darling Ranges dress fits about any shape and size!  My first one fits my friend Amiee so good I may just give it to her!

2013-06-08 02.13.36

On Saturday the weather was still pretty rainy so our hung-over selves stayed in until later in the afternoon which allowed me to sort of finish this Macaron Dress. I cut out the size that corresponded the best with my measurements and the finished garment measurements allowing some wearing ease…but things are a bit snug in certain spots.  It fits OK, just not perfect, but I have to say this dress is super flattering.  I had to lower the neck line because I felt like I was being strangled and I still can’t get the arms right so they need a bit of an adjustment.  As drafted, the skirt is way to short for me when I sit down so when I hem it I’m going to have to use some hem tape because I can’t turn up much of what’s left.  I may just hack it off at the waist though and make a high-waist skirt for work that I can wear with a tucked black top.  And the next time (and there will be a next time) I’ll cut a size 8… live and learn people…live & learn.  And apologies for the wrinkled skirt there…I wasn’t going to get out my iron for this blog photo-shoot…

Untitled

Colette Macaron
Fabric: Liberty Lifestyle Stile Collection in Newbury Teal

I also made a simple skirt out of left over Essex Linen for myself but I don’t have any pictures of it but I’m sure you will see plenty of it in summertime pictures because it’s a pretty awesome staple summer skirt that all my GF’s were jealous of since I had it on when the arrived. I may even make some more out of printed fabric here in my stash.

All and all it was a great weekend, and a much-needed break from the home life and office. I took Wednesday off too so that I could do needed pre-vacation prep with some yoga, and a leisurely lunch…in addition to packing up all that sewing stuff.  I’m very glad I took the time and $$ out of my schedule to enjoy the extra night at the ‘beach house’ by myself too. I had a ton of fun with my girlfriends, but I really needed that time alone to reset.  I hope my co-workers could tell a difference when I returned, I know I felt more of a spring in my step!

2013-06-11 13.40.31

Hot tub margaritas? Why that sounds lovely!

And I can’t probably sign off a post about a solo husband & child-free selfish-sewing sun-fun vacation without properly lamenting over how much I missed them and blah blah blah. But y’all know me and, well, I didn’t (Ok well I didn’t miss the kids but I did miss the ‘hubs but if he was there I would have golfed and not sewed so…).  I’m sorry, I’m selfish and I didn’t miss them or the morning/dinner/bedtime circus. I didn’t miss Ingrid yelling at my feet until I picked her up and I didn’t miss Sydney’s constant “Mama see what I can do?”.

But I still love them all to pieces.  I can just love them with a few more sun-inspired freckles and in my awesome new self-made clothes.

Comments

  1. Sounds like you had a fabulous time! I’m very jealous of your 36 hours of uninterrupted solo sewing time — someday I will get to do that. I love the results of your sewing time — super cute!

    • It was ah-mazing. I miss myself. LOL. Hope to do this at least once a year if possible. Next best thing to an actual sewing camp!!

Trackbacks

  1. […] wasted 8 hours without your kids around).  I got a true taste of being alone this summer during my MHIC trip where I took a few days off so I could have a few days alone before all my girlfriends arrived.  I […]

  2. […] Iowa I didn’t have my sewing gear organized to bring Betty or any sewing projects with me like I did last year. It was OK though because I didn’t have the time to sew like I did last year since I had to […]

Leave a Reply

