Spring Dresses

Even though church isn’t on our agenda for Easter, we still have festivities with friends so I decided to make the girls a new spring dress.

DSC_9179.jpg

These are their first matching dresses I’ve made for them.

DSC_9183.jpg

The pattern was super easy.  It is the new Roller Skate Dress by Oliver & S. Typical of O&S patterns it is a very thoughtful dress. The instructions are easy, and it went together smoothly.

DSC_9186.jpg

The fussiest part was  sewing on that jumbo rick rack by hand. Thankfully I’ve had some really boring meetings to call into during my work from home days.

Untitled

The fabric is a cotton/poly blend bed sheet I found at a thrift store and since I had so much of it I decided use it for the lining as well. Sydney and I went to the fabric store and she helped me pick out the rick rack and the matching buttons for the back closures. I think she had fun looking through all the buttons (our local fabric store has a very unique button collection) to find the right one for both her dress and little sisters dress too.

DSC_9191.jpg

We don’t do fancy things often, so I’m not sure how much use these delicate dresses will get, but hopefully they will be worn more than once!

DSC_9307.jpg

Comments

  1. Darling! I loved how easily the Roller Skate Dress went together. Definitely making a few more for the summer. Those are totally dresses that N would wear regularly, fancy or not. Though she is a pretty fancy-pants little girl!

    • Thanks! Yes it does together quite fast. I will likely use it a lot as well…but maybe for more cooler seasons. Syd had a couple of fully lined dresses I made for her and it was just too stuffy for the summer months to have a double layer skirt.

      • That was exactly my thought about this pattern. That’s why I only lined the bodice. I know that I’d be way to hot in a lined skirt in the summer, so I can only imagine N would be too!

        • sadly this fabric was a little too thin so I had to use the full lining but you will have to post how you altered it to only do a bodice lining (assuming you just whacked it off under the casing).

  2. Mom/Grandma says:

    Dresses are soooo cute. I bet we will be seeing more of this versatile pattern. Sure brought back memories of making dresses for two little girls.

  3. Super sweet and not too dressy at all!
    xx N

    • Thanks Nicole! I think the crisp whiteness of them make me think ‘dressy’. : ) but they are definitely less dressy than most Easter frocks!!!

Trackbacks

  1. […] so it works well with the Roller Skate Dress. Since I was familiar with the construction from the Easter Dresses this went together in no time.  In anticipation of this dress lasting through the muggy Maryland […]

Leave a Reply

