What I’ve done with 12-weeks

I do not remember maternity leave being this enjoyable last time.  A lot has to do with this being the second time around, but much also has to do with timing.  Work was really getting on my nerves about a month or so before I had Ingrid.  I’m sure the pregnancy had something to do with it, but I was also just  ready for and needed a break.

Granted maternity leave is no walk in the park. The first month is hard, really hard, but Ingrid has been so much easier than Sydney so it’s been easier to enjoy my time. I was also better this time around at seizing small moments to nap, sew, or do nothing.

Anyways other than having to feed and care for a baby, my most notable accomplishment over this maternity leave was reading 12 books in addition to smatterings of other things like The Atlantic’s well-timed “Why Women Still Can’t Have It All” issue.  Reading, especially since I acquired my Kindle, is probably the easiest thing next to watching TV that one can do while breastfeeding.  I’m proud to say I haven’t once turned on the TV for the last 12-weeks…either Royce or Sydney have been the controllers of that electronic box.  The run down of my book a week habit (in order) is below.

  • The Leftovers by Tom Perotta
  • Nightwoods by Frazier
  • The Sense of an Ending by Barnes
  • 11/22/63 by King
  • The Paris Wife by McLain
  • Let the Great World Spin by McCann
  • So Much Pretty by Hoffman
  • Monday Mornings by Gupta
  • Hotel on the Corner of Bitter and Sweet by Ford
  • Gone Girl by Jillian Flynn
  • Destiny of the Republic:  A tale of Madness, Medicine and the Murder of a President by Millard
  • The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry by Joyce

I’ve also done a fair amount of sewing.

DSC_6368.jpg

A new dress with some hand stitching

I tackled mostly quick projects that either I’ve done before or are simple enough to not require a lot of thought.  Complex and new patterns can wait til I’m either rested or have more time to commit.

DSC_6367.jpg

Popover  Sun Dress for a friend’s daughter’s flamingo themed birthday party.

In addition to a few new circle skirts and dresses for Sydney, I’ve also made two bucket hats that don’t fit her (good thing I’ve got another growing head in the house), and one that does.  I’ve also made a bunch of hooded towels and baby blankets as presents for babies and toddlers.  And I made another ruffled halter top; one of my favorite shirts on her.

DSC_5568.jpg

Pretty bird dress

I don’t remember getting this much sewing done with Sydney and I was almost certain I wouldn’t see my machine again until the fall so it’s actually been nice to have the time to work on things.  Now I just have to figure out a good time to send my machine in for its annual tune-up…

I also try to get out and go for a long walk each morning.  Having the nanny around to take Sydney to day-care the days Royce is gone has kept me to this little bit of luxury.  It’s been really hot here this summer so I try to get out by 8 AM.  I’ve also been going religiously to weekday morning Pilates classes since I was 3-weeks postpartum.

Honestly, I’m not really looking forward to returning to work. I know once I’m there I’ll get into the swing of things but I’ve really enjoyed my peaceful time at home — doing whatever I want, whenever I want, and skipping over things that I don’t want to do.  I’m sure if given a few more months I would probably get rather stir-crazy but I so rarely get peaceful productive time alone in my own home that the past 12-weeks have been downright refreshing.

I’m also acutely aware that unless I am in between jobs I will never again get this amount of time off work again.  I could probably swing taking a month off in the summer but 3-months would be near impossible unless I had a medical excuse (mental break down maybe?  LOL).

So it is for purely selfish reasons that I’ll return with a heavy heart to work on Monday to start the rat-race again and sadly stay in it until retirement (or until we win the lottery).  Bleh.

Trackbacks

  1. […] darling, and I love the versions that my friend Julie has made for her daughter (links here and here). But seriously, the thought of having to tape together 24 sheets of paper and then trace and cut […]

Leave a Reply

