Days 3-4: Home!

Hard to believe it’s been 4 days already. Four days seems so short but it feels so long (I blame sleep deprivation!).

DSC_4921.jpg

Ingrid and I came home from the hospital on Monday around noon after a stressful debacle at the hospital with the car seat that was jammed on the base. Thankfully the rest of the first day home went much easier, as Ingrid fed well and slept well. Sydney however didn’t do so well that first day when she came home from day-care. She was still very apprehensive and in general just naughty that night. I think all of us were grateful when her bedtime came and we could go back to the peace we had during the day.

Day 4 was a hard day here at home though. Ingrid was really really sleepy and didn’t want to wake for any of her daytime feedings. To make things worse I was engorged and in a lot of pain. When she did wake to eat she had a hard time latching…so there was lots of crying (from both of us). Thankfully she fed much better at night, and for that I was grateful, because by that point I was hurting so bad I was nauseated and couldn’t sleep.

So far, Ingrid has been able to go 4 hours between night feeds. I let her do that because I would rather her want to be fed at night rather than me struggling to wake and force her to feed at night. This way I get more rest too. And it seems she does better with every 2.5 hour day feeds instead of every 2 hour. We will get it all figured out eventually.

In addition to the engorgement I’ve been struggling with light-headedness since I’ve been home, I think from not eating enough. It’s hard to balance what I need with what Ingrid needs. I forgot how hungry you can get when breastfeeding. Now I’m trying to eat small snacks every 3 hours or so and Royce and Auntie-M have been good at reminding me and offering me snacks

I’m doing a better job of resting through the day as well. I didn’t do this much with Sydney and it took its toll. I’ll have to say it’s much easier though to have a baby that feeds well because a fed baby is a sleepy baby.

If things stay as they are for a few more days I’ll be extremely content.

Comments

  1. I’m glad to hear that Ingrid is feeding well — it would have been terrible to have problems getting started like with Sydney! Hope your engorgement resolves soon — that hurts so much!

  2. Lindsay says:

    Stay strong! You’re an awesome mom!!

  3. Welcome Ingrid! She is beautiful!

    It gets better with the older one, too πŸ™‚ I think it was only the second night home we heard the whimper of “take him back to the hospital,” but after some playful tickling and silliness he and I were back to good (at least for a little bit).

    Forgive me for being awfully quick to offer advice, but don’t be afraid to use the pump just a little bit if it can help with comfort. Glad to hear you are getting moments of rest – it’s so important to take good care of Mom.

  4. Awww, she’s so sweet! I read this and can remember the first days home with new babies, trying to juggle a newborn and a toddler. So hard to realize when you’re in the thick of it, but soon you’ll be a pro at managing both kids πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

