A perfect vacation

Royce and I left for Sarasota on Sunday for a few days away. He had CME money to spend so is at a conference in the mornings and in the afternoons we have been free to do what interests us. I’ve had the luxury of spending my mornings lazing about drinking coffee, listening to NPR and reading the newspaper. I’ve spent a lot of time checking out little cafes in downtown Sarasota during my mornings as well which has qualified me the luxury of a daily morning pastry.

Yesterday I went to the Ringling Musem of Art which was created from the private collections of John and Mable Ringling of circus fame. It was quite a museum that displayed their love for Italian art (not my favorite if I must admit) but the museum itself and the grounds were amazing.

20120222-105359.jpg

28-week belly self portrait thanks to 18th century mirror at Ringling Museum of Art

In addition to the art museum there is a circus museum, multiple gardens including a rose garden, and the Ringling mansion you can tour.

20120222-105646.jpg

Even David looks happier surrounded by palm trees

Monday afternoon we played some golf and yesterday we spent some time at Siesta Key beach. Today I leave but Royce will stay til Friday. I don’t have enough accrued leave to cover my maternity leave as it is but these few days I’ve taken have been worth it! I only wish I could stay for longer! A huge thanks to Royce’s mother and sister who have come out to help with Sydney to make this vacation possible!

Comments

  1. That sounds so amazing! It’s great you guys were able to get away for a bit of a “babymoon” before #2 arrives. Nice to have some calm before the storm 🙂

  2. Looks heavenly! Good idea to get some time together now 🙂

  3. Some friends of mine here to go Siesta Key every year and rave about it. It’s on my list of places to visit while we’re living here. Sounds awesome!

    • It’s a really nice beach…the softest whitest sand I’ve come across and I feel like we have been to many beaches! It’s crowded though…parking is INSANE. Luckily this time we found a local church that lets you park in their lot for a donation (of course none of this is advertised) so next time we won’t spend an hour driving around!

Leave a Reply

