What’s going on in there?

Baby Girl has been a squirmy goose this week. Unlike my last pregnancy were I got ultrasounds every other week for what seemed like the entire pregnancy…I haven’t seen her since week 20. Now that I’m at week 26 each time I feel her move I’m curious what she is doing in there; which way she is facing?, what’s poking me?. I sometimes wish my belly was transparent so I could lift up my shirt and see. Yesterday we had a fun poking game going on while I was listening to an Advisory Committee online. She would poke me, I would poke her, she would poke back… Was it a hand? elbow? foot? Who knows! I don’t even know if she is head down. At 20 weeks she was lateral. I hope since then she has found the right direction. I have an unreasonable assumption she is breech which will require me to have a c-section and I would prefer to just birth this one the same way I birthed Syd (yes even if that means no drugs) to avoid screwing up my abdomen as well as what’s already been damaged from birth #1. My next sonogram is at 30 weeks, so I’ll find out my fate soon enough.

I haven’t had many cravings this pregnancy which is strange. I remember with Syd I couldn’t get enough milk, but this time around nothing in particular has been driving my eating. Honestly I haven’t been that hungry and coming up with our weekly dinners for our menu has been a constant struggle this time around. Many of the nights when Royce is working Syd and I just eat a bowl of cereal cause it’s all I can think of and she miraculously loves to eat cereal (I think the novelty of it is fun for her). However, I’ll rarely turn down these few items: milkshakes, Oreos, dried fruit, orange juice and grapefruit. I almost always start my day with a small glass of orange juice and eat a grapefruit at some point during my day. The milkshakes are an occasional weekly treat (Potbelly’s are my favorite) and Oreo’s are a frequent nightly treat but some nights that is substituted with a glass of wine.

Hopefully one of these nights I can remember to pull out my camera for some belly shots to document this one before my time is up!

Comments

  1. Feeling the baby move is one of the things I loved best about pregnancy! Happy to hear you’re feeling well.

  2. You still have plenty of time. As I recall, Naomi was still lateral at 26 weeks and I know she was still breech at 20. But she turned in plenty of time,

    Having experienced both, I definitely would *not* recommend a C-section if you can avoid it. I’ll take the urinary incontinence of a vaginal delivery over everything associated with a C-section and major abdominal surgery any day!

    But I would *highly* recommend an epidural 🙂

Leave a Reply

