Favorite Books :: 2

The last Favorite Books post I did was almost a year ago.  Honestly since then we have been reading very similar types of books so I didn’t feel the need to update you on the latest and greatest board book collection we have amassed.  I will have to say that the Dr. Seuss board books (we have two sets, both found at Costco a while back) were a hit for a long time.  These are shorter versions of the original Dr. Seuss hits and are more geared towards a younger childs attention span (I mean really how LONG does Hop on Pop need to be?  I don’t even have the attention span to sit through that!).  My all time favorite is “Mr. Brown can Moo can You?” and Syd was a big fan of “Hand, Hand, Fingers, Thumb” for a long time.  But really she would sit through any of those Dr. Seuss board books and be quite content.

The biggest development in the last couple of weeks is that she has really started getting into longer stories.  We got two great Mary Engelbreit books (Nursery Tales and Fairy Tales) from Aunt Shirley for Syds 2nd birthday and she loves them!  And I have to confess I love reading them.  The pictures are beautiful and the stories for a toddler are captivating (although seriously all the happily ever afters get a little hokey sometimes).  Syds favorite right now is the Gingerbread Man.  I don’t know how many times I’ve sung “Run, run as fast as you can, you can’t catch me, I’m the Gingerbread Man!” over the past few days as Sydney runs through the house.  I even went to far as to pick up some Gingerbread men for her at Trader Joes yesterday and according to the babysitter last night she loved them.

There are a few other books she got for her birthday that I plan to pull out since it seems she can maintain the attention long enough to enjoy them!  I also want to stock up on more of the Little Golden Books.  We only have one and it’s another of her favorites.  One of the books from the last update still remains – Hickory, Dickory, Dock.  Sydney adores this book, mostly because it has ‘Ring around the Rosie’ in it which she will make us do (she calls it “Ashes”) every chance she gets!

  • Mary Engelbreit’s Fairy Tales: Twelve Timeless Treasures
  • Mary Engelbreit’s Nursery Tales: A Treasury of Children’s Classics
  • The Jolly Barnyard (Little Golden Book)
  • Ladybug Girl by Jacky Davis
  • Hickory, Dickory, Dock: And Other Favorite Nursery Rhymes

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

