The Ice Cream Dress

I bought a bunch of Oliver & S patterns during a sale in January and I’m slowly working my way through them.  On Friday we were home and I was restless so I traced and cut out the pieces for the Ice Cream Dress for Syd while Royce watched something on TV.

DSC_0163-1.jpg

Ice Cream Dress

It went together quite nicely and I love the sweet neckline detail and pocket detail.  It would be easy to also make the dress without that ‘notch’ but I figured for the first attempt I would make it as written.

DSC_0159-2.jpg

neck line detail

The fabric I had here in my stash.  The red/white checks came from a Michel Miller half-yard assortment I ordered to increase my stash (a lot of children’s clothing requires a half-yard or less!) and the bird fabric is by Alexander Henry which I must have ordered a long time ago because I do not remember how I acquired it!  This is the second dress with birds on it that Syd has…what can I say birds are cool!

DSC_0161-1.jpg

pocket detail

It took me Friday to cut it and I sewed everything but the bottom hem on Saturday night after Syd went to bed.  I had a lot of trouble with shifting fabric on the hem and ended up ripping it out 1.5 times before discovering I was a dunce and should use my walking foot.  Third time was a charm!  It is a nice hem, although fussy to assemble, it will wear nice since she will do a lot of bending/crouching and the wrong side of her dress will show often.

DSC_0158-1.jpg

back view

I really like patterns that use methods other than zippers for closures. I find zippers bulky and too scratchy for delicate young skin. I like the thought that the makers of Oliver and S put into their patterns to make them kid-friendly and kid-comfortable.

DSC_0157-2.jpg

back closure detail

Over all not bad for less than 3 hours of sewing work. Syd now has enough hand-made clothes to wear a hand-made item each day of the school week! I look forward to making more dresses and tops for her to wear this summer!

Comments

  1. Isn’t it fun to take parts of the fabric and make them to be the focal point of the garment! Birdies on the pockets were perfect. Take notes while constructing and post them on/in the directions. After making so many items you will someday wonder, “Now how did I do that?”. Your notes will clarify that thought very quickly.
    Darling dress ….. can’t wait to see picutes of it on Sydney.

    • midwestkids says:

      Yes! I need to tell ‘future me’ to use the walking foot on the hem to save ‘future me’ hours of frustration. It was a fun dress to put together. The fabric was fun and the subject who will wear it is fun too. : D

  2. This is so cute, great job!

Trackbacks

  1. […] round was hilarious.  Someone was NOT photogenic which was too bad since she looked so cute in her Ice Cream Dress.   Not worth purchasing but defitely worth scanning in and posting on the blog for […]

Leave a Reply

