15 months

Syd turned 15 months (that’s 1 year 3 months old to those of you whose life isn’t counted in months) on February 21st.  I realize it’s far beyond that but hey, cut me some slack.

I was waiting til we had her well-check appointment so that I could include new stats on the babe.  You all know how much I love statistics.  It typically is the first thing about my job that puts me asleep.  We haven’t had a well-check doctors appointment since her 12th month.  She is inching up there with two of her measures close to, or over 50%.   Since her 12-month visit she has grown 1.5 inches (30.5 inches; 46%), gained 2 lbs 3 oz (21lbs 12oz; 29%) and her head has grown by 1 cm (47 cm; 77%).

She still isn’t much of a talker.  Still no “Mama” or “Dada” directed at either of us. She still gets really excited and says “duh” and points at the dog whenever she sees him.  She has also perfected “uh-oh” when she drops something and sometimes will say “hi”.  I know the language is there. She understands what we are saying and will still use her signs sometimes to ask for what she needs but typically she gets what she wants with a point, scream or down-right fit.  It will be nice when I hear the words “Mama” instead of hearing grunts or screams.  She does babble occasionally but for the most part she is pretty quiet (outside of the crying).  I guess she has fluid on her ear (still) which we have to go back to have checked in 3 weeks.  If it’s still there we will be referred to an ENT (ear, nose & throat) doctor to discuss the placement of tubes.  I’m curious as to if this is why she is what I would consider to be ‘language delayed’.  We shall see.  Tubes would be a welcome relief honestly…the 3 ear infections she had within 3-months this winter were not fun.

She is still rather particular and can be upset by the smallest of things.  We stick to a pretty tight routine to avoid any upsets and it seems to work most of the time.  Some days there just isn’t anything that will appease her.  Like most children she will get very angry if you won’t let her do what she wants to do which can be frustrating especially when you are trying to head out the door and she wants to open the fridge to unload all the condiments.  She is very in-tune to what is going on though.  Saturday she wouldn’t stop screaming no matter what I did so I put her back in her crib for a while to get a breather.  When I walked back in a few minutes later (she was still crying)…she turned to look at me with this glare that said “how dare you leave me here crying” and then turned back to her crib corner and continued to scream.  And so it begins…

When she is happy she is quite the goof.  She loves to color.  Her favorite place is outside where she can throw balls, swing, dig in her ‘rice box’ and run up and down the sidewalk.  She will dance and do hand gestures to “Itzy Bitzy Spider” and “Twinkle Twinkle Little Star”.  When in the mood she will point to her head, nose and belly when asked.  She is ticklish around her neck and belly.  I think my favorite thing she does is come over when you are sitting Indian-style and plop her butt right in that spot where your feet meet.  She will do this to read books, color, or put on her shoes and socks.

Trackbacks

  1. […] over Syd’s 15-month update I’m not seeing the pins-and-needles temper in Ingrid that we went through (and honestly still […]

Leave a Reply

