Favorite Books

My friend Katie does a “Favorite Books” post every once in a while and I thought it may be a fun way to look back in years gone by to see what Sydney liked to read.  Since I’m struggling lately to come up with topics to write about this was perfect inspiration.

Currently we are in the stage of “I want to turn the page”.  Sometimes that means she turns them really fast…so fast that you can’t read a story. Or her chubby fingers turn all the pages at once so you are over before you even began.  She is also fond of sitting for 2 pages of a book and then pointing and “duh-ing” (what she says when she wants something) until you chose another…and you will keep choosing until you pick the one she wants…and if you aren’t successful in guessing which one she wants she may start yelling at you (it can get quite stressful!).  I’m looking forward to some advances in communication!

Syd will almost always sit still and pay attention and LET you read the following books.

  • “Moo Baa La La La” by Sandra Boynton
  • “Blue Hat, Green Hat” by Sandra Boynton (she will even laugh when you say OOPS!)
  • “Goodnight Moon” by Margaret Wise Brown and Clement Hurd
  • Hickory, Dickory, Dock: And Other Favorite Nursery Rhymes
  • Touch and Feel: Farm

Of course we get a gazillion books from the library each month and sometimes she will latch on to one or two of those and let you read them.  However, we mostly go to the library so we have a new variety of things to read while she walks around getting us other books to read.

 

Comments

  1. These were some of the faves at our house too! Goodnight Moon was the first book that Jake would ever sit and actually listen to. He’ll still occasionally choose it to read at bedtime.

  2. I bought Moo, Baa, La La La for my nephew. That book cracks me up. I might have to pick up a copy.

    • midwestkids says:

      I don’t even need the book anymore I can recite it by heart…

      • yeah, Liam loves that book, too. In fact, Jessaca, I think you bought that one for my baby shower! Liam calls it his “La la la” book.

        Oh, and I have several books memorized now. It helps when you have to read upside-down 🙂

  3. We LOVED Touch and Feel Farm! It’s long gone to my sister’s kids, now, but both my kids loved it. We were also deeply attached to Goodnight Moon. My daughter loved a board book called Cookie’s Week. My current favorite kids book is Doggone Dogs.

Leave a Reply

