All better!

Syd is has finally recovered from a nasty Upper Respiratory Infection (URI).  She came down with it the week the power went out and just couldn’t kick it.  She would spike fevers around and over 102 degrees sporadically throughout the day but since there were times where she was fever free and acting fine I didn’t think much of it.  Until it lasted a week.  I figured a week of random fevers was a good reason to visit the doctor to make sure she didn’t have a UTI.

Two cath’s (one failed; one success) later we confirmed no UTI, but since her throat was raw and ears were full and nose was filled, the doctor gave us a script for Amoxicillin and sent us on our way.  I’m not a fan of antibiotics. I can’t remember the last time I took one.  I think doctors hand them out to get people (especially parents) off their backs.  I’m definitely not a fan of treating ear infections with them unless they are confirmed bacterial (which no one ever does and 99.9% of the time they are viral).  Mostly the kids just need something to take the pain away and pain relieving ear drops do a lot less damage than antibiotics in my opinion.  Anyways, I got over my ABX snobbery since Syd had tried for a week to get this gunk outta her system and her own immune system didn’t seem to be doing the trick.  However, giving this stuff to her is a fierce battle of wills and most of it goes down her neck, so in the end I may be getting my way anyways.   Of course the pharmacist in me will insist on giving them for the full 10-days so only six more days left of pink stained clothes and diaper cloths….can’t come fast enough.  Her ‘crud’ was released on Thursday. Gobs and gobs of green thick snot.  Trying to wipe that off a baby who screams at anything coming at her face was a mighty fun time.  Between the snot and the medicine I’ve almost had my fill of fussies.  We even switched from oral Tylenol to rectal because the little stink-pot wouldn’t even let us get that down and in my opinion it was needed more than the ABX.  Amazingly the suppositories were a complete breeze to give her and it makes me wonder if there is a way I could get the Amoxicillin up there that way as well!!

Now that she is better she is back to her usual silly self.  With the fever she would just sit there and let out these little “eh” sounds.  It was so pathetic, but now we are back to chasing her around.  This weeks hit is the stairs.  She likes to crawl all the way up the basement stairs.   Her reward at the top is a dog-dish filled with water.  The video below only catches her going to the landing but you get the idea.  She gets up to the landing and each time she turns around as if to say  “Look!  See what I did!”. Sometimes she will clap for herself but she wasn’t cooperating when we shot this.  After her little self-affirmation moment she typically continues all the way up to the top.  We did this at least 3 times last night before I had to move the pack n’ play to block the stairs (cause mama was tired of going up and down and up and down and up).

The second video was my first attempt to catch her going up the stairs but alas the video camera was way more interesting than those silly stairs.

Comments

  1. Is that a diaper cover I see on her? You experimenting with cloth? Or just something cute to cover the disposable?

    • midwestkids says:

      Nope, just some ‘bloomers’. I was trying out a new pattern and these were my ‘practice pair’. At lot of baby bloomer patterns don’t have enough room in the butt. These however worked nicely so now I have a nice matching pair to go with a dress I made her.

      I was practicing for her Iowa State Fair shorts… : D

Leave a Reply

