Getting rid of purees

Now that Ms. Independent has insisted on feeding herself I have a freezer full of frozen purees that need consumed.  Especially peas and zucchini!  The zucchini I can use in a bread for Royce and I (no eggs yet for Syd so no quick breads for her!), it’s the peas, sweet potato, and squash I’ll have trouble with.  Thankfully she still gobbles oatmeal in the morning which I mix with her peaches.  If she stops eating oatmeal and I have a freezer full of pureed peaches I’m sure I won’t have a hard time concocting a fantastic summer drink (peach martini anyone?) to put those purees to use!

I threw in some peas into this Homemade Wheat Thin recipe I found on my go-to baby food website.  Man are they good!   Katie also gave me a rice rusk recipe that uses 1 cup of pureed veggies, but the rice-flour is on order…maybe next week!

Homemade Wheat Thins (with purred veggies)
3 cups uncooked oatmeal
2 cups unbleached white flour or 1 c. whole wheat flour
1 cup wheat germ
3 tbsp. sugar
1 tsp. salt
3/4 cup oil
approx 1 cup water
pureed veggie(s) of choice

Mix all together.  You may need to cut back on the water depending on how watery your pureed veggies are.  I put my veggies in the liquid measuring cup and added enough water to equal 1 cup.

Roll out onto 2 cookie sheets.  Sprinkle with salt and lightly roll again to press salt in.  Optional — sprinkle with sesame or poppy seeds before baking.  Cut into squares

Bake at 350F.  After 15 minutes begin checking the crackers and remove the ones that are golden brown and hard. Continue checking every 3-5 minutes.

Comments

  1. Sound yummy! I think I’ll give them a try!

Trackbacks

  1. […] friend Julie posted this recipe for vegetable wheat crackers on her blog awhile back. So long as Albert makes a grocery store run […]

Leave a Reply

