Growing by leaps and bounds

We are finally getting into the swing of things here.  Good news came this Tuesday at Sydney’s weight check appointment.  She had gained 8 oz in one week and is now up to 7 lbs 6 oz (2 oz over her birth weight).  Huge sigh of relief from me (and I’m sure Royce too as he didn’t have to deal with weepy wife on the drive home).  To add to that celebration, Sydney has started latching the normal way more and more each day.  I’m thinking soon these nipple shields will be a distant memory.  It is amazing how far we have come and she isn’t even 28 days old yet.  I’m so glad I stuck to my guns and pushed through this horrible phase because the light at the end of the tunnel is closer than I ever thought it would be!

Grandma has also come and gone.  She left on Monday after a 10 day visit.  We are giving her credit for helping us achieve Sydney’s weight goals as she did a fantastic job helping with the bottle feeding of Syd (and feeding us great home cooked meals as well!).  Will be glad to have her back here in a few more days for the Holidays.

Speaking of…how does a new mom decorate for the holidays?  Slowly… and with baby strapped to her chest.

It took me a good week to get the tree all decorated, and honestly if it wasn’t for the fact that Christmas is at our house it wouldn’t be up at all.  I will have to say that the glow of the tree does cast a nice cozy light of an evening.

Royce has also gone back to work.  Sydney and I had our first night all alone on Monday.  I was pretty scared.  I wasn’t sure I could do all the night feeds by myself (they are fairly complicated if you remember).  And I was also afraid of the ‘witching hour’ which although has only happened a couple of times…is pretty intense.  We made it through Monday and even survived yesterday when Dad worked 11pm to 7am.  Other than crying for hunger, little Syd was as quiet as a mouse.  I don’t think Dad has quite recovered from his night shift though…

Comments

  1. Sydney is just adorable. Such a pretty baby! Sounds like you’re starting to get into the swing of things 🙂

Leave a Reply

