The last week

This past week is best described as annoying.  I’m tired, wicked tired, more tired than I’ve ever been.  So tired I was sitting at work this AM and almost cried.

At best I sleep in 1 hour stints.  I wake from either heartburn flares, or the need to pee.  The need to pee has been an ongoing occurrence, one of my first side effects of pregnancy that just never went away.  It just occurs more often …like every time I move or shift my weight.  Now the contractions have started and those typically wake me up and bring to my attention the need to pee.  I never knew I had so much pee.  Maybe this baby is part diuretic.  I can’t remember the last time I slept through the night without getting up to pee*.   I am looking forward to baby being out because she has to sleep for at least 2 hours straight in 1 day right?  Maybe?  I hope so…2 hours at once is way better than what I’m getting currently.

I should consider myself lucky.  I’ve really only had this one week of real struggle out of 39.  Every day people tell me I don’t even look pregnant.  I’ve had no nausea, vomiting, or pain (round ligament or sciatica), I’m not swollen, my rings still fit, I haven’t even gained the allotted 25 lbs yet.  Up until this week I would sometimes even forget that I was pregnant because I honestly haven’t been uncomfortable at all.  So if all I have is 1 week of horrible sleep deprivation I guess I’ll take it and run with it because most of my friends haven’t been as blessed.

* and don’t start saying it’s ‘training’ and ‘if you are tired now just wait’…people who say that crap I want to kick.  You don’t ‘train’ for sleep deprivation, you train to run a 10K.

Comments

  1. I feel for you! I felt the same way at the end of the pregnancy. Between having to get up all the time to pee and the horrible hip pain I would get when I was lying down (probably due to the fact that I carried Jake completely out in front, not inside my body at all) I barely got any sleep. I remember the day when, at about 4 months or so, he started sleeping through the night and I was so happy because I finally got to sleep through the night for the first time in over a year. He kept sleeping through the night and now I get 7-8 hours of sleep every night. You will get there! Even if baby wakes up every 2 hours when she’s born, at least you won’t be horribly uncomfortable all the time. And maybe you’ll get lucky and have a baby who sleeps 4-5 hours at a time from birth:) Good luck — the end is almost here!!!

Leave a Reply

