The nursery

Finally some photos of the nursery!

It was fun sewing and designing everything from scratch, a true labor of love that can’t be matched by a store bought purchase.  I took bits and pieces from different patterns, books and websites to satisfy my vision and create flexibility (the bumper is reversible).  All the fabrics came from Amy Butler’s Lotus Collection.  They were a true dream to work with, solidifying my belief that good fabric is worth it’s weight in gold.

The stuffed bugs were also a fun project.  They are filled with jingle bells and are very attractive to Charlie, so for now they are staying put in the crib.

In addition to doing all the crummy work (painting, trim work, light installation) Royce even helped a bit with the valance.  He did a great job nailing some wood together to form a box so that I could staple the finished valance on.  And of course he helped mount the final product since a pregnant woman yielding a power drill precariously from a step stool isn’t the best of ideas.

I’ll have to admit the contrasting box pleat on the valance turned out rather fresh and fancy.

To protect the dresser top, which for now will be used as a changing table, I experimented a bit with quilting and made a reversible runner.

All and all not a bad outcome (although my binding gets a D).  Probably would have made my life easier for myself if I would have just done a standard mitered quilt binding, but alas I just had to have a 1 + inch border.  And of course I was too lazy to slip stitch one side by hand so the top stitching doesn’t really hit up well on one side like it does the other.

Royce thinks it’s the best room in the house and I can’t deny that.  The cozy fabrics, whimsical art work, carpet and lighting all come together for a very relaxing nursery.  I sure hope she enjoys it as much as we do.

Comments

  1. Julie, it is beautiful! You’re little baby girl will love it!

  2. While you are “waiting” how about making Charlie is own little bell bug?
    Use a different fabric however so that he can differentiate from his and baby’s.
    Room is absolutely superb!

    • midwestkids says:

      I think I would have to make it out of chain link for Charlie! He destroys soft chew toys before you can cry ‘boo’.

  3. mandysmusings says:

    Lovely! Wish I’d enlisted you to decorate our baby’s room last year. But I figured putting together our crib was enough to ask, lol. Great work, and I can’t wait to see it in person.

  4. Um, holy cow, i LOVE your fabric choices!!! So beautiful!

  5. Would you mind traveling to Green Bay before the baby and making stuff for my house? 🙂

  6. I should have added that no, I’m not pregnant, but you could do the whole house. Everything looks awesome for the baby. I’m so happy for you and Royce

Trackbacks

  1. […] my local fabric store.  I learned by doing (and re-doing).  I’ll say that sewing bags and baby bedding were probably the easiest projects I tackled.  Sewing clothes can be fussy but I’m learning […]

  2. […] room was harder for  me to decide on than Sydney’s nursery.  I struggled with fabrics, and then wall colors.  Eventually everything came together though and […]

Leave a Reply

