All things nursery design

Between work, sewing a little here on a purse for a friend and making myself a shirt for the super swanky Best of Washington party the five days with Royce gone (he is in CO) has flown by.

I’ve been very productive getting things set up for the nursery.  First I bought the prints we will be hanging.  About 2 years ago when Royce’s mother was visiting we went to a Grant Wood exhibit here in DC and I fell in love with his whimsical farm scene paintings.  Right then and there I knew when we had a kid some of his work would be on our walls!  We got Fall Plowing, Young Corn and Stone  City.

I also think I have finally decided on fabrics for the things I’m making for the nursery.  I’m going to try my hand at making the crib skirt, bumper, window valance and a couple crib sheets.  I’ll be using this pattern as a template, although I’ll use ties for the bumper and the window valance will be a section of the crib skirt.

All of the fabric (excpt the solid brown) is from the Amy Butler Lotus collection.  There is so much beautiful whimsical fabric out there right now which has made it impossible to decide.  Our fabric stores here are also very limiting which is why I’ve had to resort to looking online.  To keep with a ‘farm’ theme I’m sticking with browns, and greens and yellows.  I never could find any decent farm animal prints that were not hokey or dorky so the theme will come in through the prints and other knickknacks like a quintessential John Deere tractor that will hopefully grace a shelf.

Comments

  1. Adore the Grant Wood prints – I fell in love with them at that exhibit in DC, too. The fabrics all looks so great with it – will be a sweet place for little girl – nice choices!

  2. mandysmusings says:

    Very original — i love it!

  3. Gorgeous! I love your choices, those are some of my favorite fabrics. The art is beautiful too, perfect for a child’s room.

Trackbacks

  1. […] Syd’s nursery we used prints from a famous Iowa (Dada’s home state) artist, Grant Wood to give the room a […]

Leave a Reply

