Green Chicken Masala

Last night was cooking club and the theme was ‘something new’.  So we had to make something we had never made before.  Risky!  I have always wanted to make a curry but never have.  I also never had insight into one of the best minds here in DC when it comes to Indian food.  So I picked a recipe, crossed my fingers and went against every entertaining rule out there and made something for a party I had never made before.

The recipe is below.  It had nothing in it I would suspect in being in curry except for the coconut milk but the finished product was just as good as stuff I’ve had here in the local restaurant.  I’m sure this would work with tofu too…

Green Chicken Masala
(recipe and photo from Food & Wine)
Ingredients
2 cups cilantro leaves (and yes I only used the leaves not the stems)
1 cup mint leaves
1 jalapeno, coarsely chopped
4 garlic cloves, smashed
1/4 cup fresh lemon juice (1.5 lemons approx)
1/2 cup water
2 tbs canola oil (I used vegetable oil)
1 onion, finely chopped
1 3/4 lb chicken (I used boneless skinless thighs)
1 1/2 tsp turmeric
1/2 tsp cinnamon
1/2 tsp cardamom
1/8 tsp ground cloves
1 cup unsweetened coconut milk (I used Goya brand)
Kosher salt
Basmati or Jasmine rice for serving

  1. In a blender or food proceser combine the clinatro, mint, jalapeno, garlic, lemon juice & water.  Puree until smooth.
  2. In a large deep skillet heat the oil.  Add the onion and cook over moderately high heat until softened (about 5 mins…and stir frequently so they don’t burn!).
  3. Add the chicken and turmeric and cook stirring occasionaly until the chicken is cooked (hard to tell b/c of the turmeric color, took me about 14 mins).  Add the remaining spices and cook a miniute more.
  4. Add the cilantro puree and coconut milk, season with salt and bring to a boil.  Simmer over low heat until the sauce is slightly thickened and the chicken is tender (I let it simmer for a good 30 mins).
  5. Serve with cooked basmati or jasmine rice.

Leave a Reply

