A recipe for Salina

I’ve joined Facebook…I know I know…it’s juvenile but it has been so much fun getting in touch with long lost friends.  My long lost (but now found!) college roommate Salina posted today that she needed new recipes so I figured I would give her one of our staples and it also reminded me to start blogging again about food.  Since we cook in almost every night, it is a waste to let our meal planning/new recipes go to waste.  Hopefully somebody out there is using them occasionally!

Royce and I really like Skillet Chicken Stew (adapted from Rachel Ray)Below I’ve put my adaptation on the recipe so feel free to look at both. 

Ingredients

3 -5 tablespoons flour 

1 tablespoon sweet smoked paprika, plus more for seasoning

Salt and pepper

2-4 Chicken breasts (cut into small 2 inch slices) or breast tenderloins

1 tablespoon butter

One 8-ounce package cremini or white mushrooms, halved

1 bunch scallions, white and green parts thinly sliced separately

1 cup chicken broth

1/2 cup plain whole milk yogurt (I use Fage brand Greek yogurt)

Cooked rice, for serving
A green veggie for a side

  

Directions

  1. In a large Ziploc bag, combine the flour, paprika and 2 pinches each salt and pepper. Add the chicken and coat the chicken pieces.
  2. In a large, deep skillet, melt the butter over medium heat. Add the chicken to the pan. Cook, turning occasionally with tongs, until golden, 6 to 8 minutes. Transfer to a plate.
  3. Add the mushrooms and scallion whites to the skillet and cook, stirring often, until tender, 3 to 4 minutes.
  4. Stir in the chicken broth, scraping up the browned bits from the bottom of the pan, and bring to a boil.
  5. Return the chicken pieces to the skillet, cover and simmer over medium-low heat until the juices run clear, 20 to 25 minutes. (I shake on lots of paprika here too).
  6. Stir the yogurt and scallion greens into the pan sauce; season with salt, pepper and paprika. Stir to coat the chicken with the sauce.
  7. To serve, mound some rice on each of 4 plates and top with the chicken.  Serve with your vegetable side.

And as a side note, most of the stuff we make on a weekly basis I’ve had passed down from Mom.  However, I typically attempt to try at least 1 new recipe a week (sometimes we go months with nothing new) and if it is good, it gets added to our weeknight recipe book.   We get most of our new recipes finds from Rachel Ray Magazine.  I hate her personality as much as the next person, but her ideas are typically simple and don’t require me to go to the fancy grocery store.  I also get inspired with Cooking Light  magazine as well.  Real Simple is another good go-to place for easy quick weeknight meals.  I also keep a master list of things we like.  I know it sounds silly but when deciding what we want for the week it is far easier to scroll down a list and choose some items than to flip through multiple recipe books.  Just trying to keep life simple…

Leave a Reply

