Royce leaves me home alone and all I do is spend money and play with caulk

I’ve obviously been down in the basement for too long.  Maybe the asbestos tiles are getting to my head.  

I sent Royce off this morning to Utah for his annual mountain men mountain biking trip with his buds Dain and Albert. I’m here home alone so I figured I would go to Home Depot and drop a wad of dough on door knobs, paint, dead bolts, a toilet seat cover, light bulbs and of course…caulk!

I’ll tell you this…caulking trim nail holes is not nearly as much fun when you do it alone and have no one to make dirty caulk jokes with.  However, it was fun calling up the husband in Utah to tell him I had caulk all over my hands.

I also baby-sat for the first time today.  Yes, I’m 29 and have never baby-sat…my first job was a piano teacher at 16…I guess up until then I managed to get enough $$ by doing house chores or something.  Or maybe I’m just a spoiled brat and my parents gave me whatever I wanted.  Regardless…I’m ecstatic that I didn’t kill the kid, the kid didn’t kill herself, and I also managed to successfully change my very first diaper without getting poo on my hands.  Go me.

Tomorrow…Painting!  Not nearly as insinuating as caulking but someone’s got to get all this trim painted. 

Comments

  1. Wow, 29 before you babysat, that is impressive. It seems that in Cedar Rapids, if you could make macaroni and cheese without hurting anyone, you could babysit. I probably babysat for other peoples’ kids (i.e. not my brother) for the first time when I was 11 or 12. And that’s what I did all day, every day for 3 summers all through high school. Not a bad gig though — they pay you to play with little kids, and the pay is pretty good for a 15 year old. I could handle that.

Leave a Reply

