Relaxation

We both had hectic work weeks that is for sure.  Between a stretch of night shifts, jury duty and my  first NDA of the year coming to a conclusion, the three day weekend is much needed.

Tonight we are kicking it off with our annual Valentines cooking class at L’ Academie de Cuisine.  Bistro cooking at it’s finest…Mussels Provencale, Beef Bourguignon with Buttered Noodles and Crepes Suzette with Vanilla Ice Cream.  I’m really looking forward to the Beef Bourguignon…I’ve been searching for a good recipe for this dish since we returned from Paris and I doubt this French cooking school will leave me hanging.

We have lots of other things we may get to…or we may not.  I think we both are looking forward to watching some movies, reading books and the general laziness that we both are craving at this moment. 

Speaking of books.  I’ve had a good run lately.  Finished Snow Flower and the Secret Fan a couple of weeks ago.  It reminded me of Memoirs of a Geisha, but was different enough to keep me interested and thankful for my big feet.  Currently I’m engrossed in The Book Thief…a whimsical story of a young girl growing up in Nazi Germany who amongst other things, has a love a books and ends up stealing them.  The narration is unique and the characters are all engrossing.  So far my favorite story line is the relationship between the girl and the Jew they are hiding.  A great page turner…good for all ages.  I have a feeling I’ll gobble up the rest of it this weekend.

Leave a Reply

