The Christmas build up…and let down.


Christmas preparations…pies from scratch.

This year marked the first year my family has celebrated the holidays outside of KS and MO for as long as I’ve been on this planet.  I don’t know how I convinced the three of them to come out here but I did and it was fun.  Well the first part wasn’t fun.  They were supposed to arrive Saturday around 4PM but didn’t get here until Monday at 4AM due to weather in KC and a good dollop of bad luck.  We made the most of the time we had together though by spending most of Christmas eve downtown seeing some sites.  

It was the first time I had been able to try out the new camera on DC’s landscape.  I only wish I had gotten my tripod a day early so that my night shots would have been crisper.  I’m sure there will be other chances to snap away.  


View of Lincoln memorial from reflecting pool.


WWII memorial


Washington Monument

There are more photos online…here.

The troops left this morning and now the house is quiet and empty and it’s sort of sad.  I always hate it when visitors go…I have all this space and time to fill and I’m not sure how best to do it.  Charlie misses them too…his petting potential is down to just 4 hands instead of 10.

Leave a Reply

