A fall treat

 
These Pumpkin Whoopie Pies caught my eye in the October issue of EveryDay.  The pumpkin and cream cheese frosting probably had something to do with my curiosity.  I was in a baking mood today so I figured I would give them a shot.  They must have turned out well as Royce has had three of them in the last 30-minutes.

The end product was this soft, moist (1 stick of butter…yikes!) pumpkin infused cake-like bit of goodness.  The light sweet cream cheese frosting is the perfect complement to the pumpkin spice.  I think that chopped pecans would be a nice addition for the next go-around.  Also I didn’t make sandwiches as pictured and suggested in the recipe…I just iced the top of each cake so that I could have 24 cookies instead of 12…what can I say…I like to share the things I bake!

Photo courtesy of rachelraymag.com

 

Leave a Reply

