The pain stops here

I’ve given up.  I’m going to see a doctor.  My run yesterday sucked so bad I don’t even want to remember how awful it was.  Between the pain in my left lower leg/calf/ankle (you name it there was pain) and the soul sucking heat I gave up and walked after 2 miles, picked up running again at mile 3 and ranted to Royce on how sucky that run was from mile 4 to home. 

Made an appointment today with a sports medicine guy here in town.  I’ll see him on Tuesday.  The receptionist wasn’t all that impressive…she sounded like she had had enough of that job about 3 years ago.  Hopefully the doctor will be a bit more responsive.  At least my friend Kim has been there and seems happy with them.  At this point I don’t know what I need…new shoes?  Orthotics?  stride analysis?  taken out back and shot like a gimpy horse?  

Royce said from looking at me run I’m a hard heel striker and my left foot goes out (the opposite of your typical pigeon or in-toe person) which makes some sense cause when I flex my foot and then rotate it to the outside the pain gets worse.  By golly we may be going somewhere with this hypothesis.  But how do you change that?  Many Google searches later and I can only find solutions to people with pigeon toe problems but none with my problem.  To add to my high arches, small feet, history of shin splints and being ‘heavy’ for my height I’m really wondering if running is the sport for me.

I’m going to try my darndest to do my ‘long run’ this weekend.  The heat and humidity are supposed to rise, I have to go into work on Saturday for 4 hours to finish up a review and Sunday is my all day photography class, add to that my responsibilities to get Sir Charlie to the dog park by 8 AM both Saturday and Sunday so that he can run around and play with all the neighborhood dogs and it seems as though my weekend is already over.  It’s going to be really hard to muster the motivation to complete 4.5 miles in the morning on Saturday but I’m going to try…

Comments

  1. Sounds like you have the same kind of problems I do. I overpronate, have high arches, and am heavy for my height. My feet point out instead of in or straight as well. I had terrible knee pain when I first started running and had to get custom orthotics to correct all of my biomechanical issues. And the reason i’ve been having injuries lately is because my orthotics are shot and need to be replaced. Luckily, I have new ones on order.

    It’s really a good thing that you’re going to see someone. Something like 95% of people overpronate and need some kind of correction in order to run pain-free. Unfortunately, for most of us, it’s not a natural thing. If you’re having lots of pain, you’re probably better off skipping your long run this weekend and doing the same amount of time cross-training. Really, missing a 4.5 mile run is not going to hurt you at all in the long run, but if you aggravate an injury, it could set you back weeks. Instead of doing that run, it’s probably a better idea to do a 45-minute swim or bike ride, or spend 45 minutes on the elliptical.

    If there’s one thing I’ve learned in the last 3 years running, it’s that this is not supposed to hurt. If it does hurt, you’re not doing yourself any favors by continuing to run. One thing that a lot of runners have trouble with at first is learning to listen when your body is telling you that you need to rest. If you need to rest, then take a day off, skip a 4.5 mile run, and you’ll probably feel better in the long run.

    • If you twist my arm…

      Ok, OK, twist my arm hard enough and I won’t go for a run. lol. The only bummer is on the weekends my gym is closed (its the gym here at work) so I’m stuck with outdoor activities. I guess I could dust the bike off and find a trail…gosh I feel lazy I didn’t think of that before.

      Swimming sounds like a wonderful idea though (maybe has something to do with submerging my over heated body in water???). I’ll have to check with our local public pool. Their lap hours in the summer were awful b/c of all the camps and classes. Hopefully now that it is Sept I can swim sometime before 8PM.

      I really hope this Doc can help me or at least point me in the right direction to find help. I’m a believer that good orthotics may be my savior in this situation…

      • Re: If you twist my arm…

        Im glad to hear you talking sense. I also like the idea of swimming when its really hot — and its easy on the joints and all your muscles, so not likely to aggravate any injuries. Orthotics could definitely be your savior — they were mine. My new ones are finally ready, too, which is very relieving to me:)

Leave a Reply

