Living room decoration ideas

Now that everything is painted and the furniture is all settled I’ve got to pull out my decorating hat and see what I can do.  I’m scared.  I’ve got some decent ideas but I’ve got a lot of wall space.  I don’t want things to look cluttered, I’m going for clean lines in this room.

My ideas so far stem around flanking the left and right side of the room with wall anchored shelves…kind of like this…but in white:

I’m thinking three on each side mounted kind of staggered like above.  Here I can set vases, my Grandpas microsope, and other trinkets I may pick up along life that have an interesting story or charm.

In between the shelves I’m thinking black and white prints, maybe five sort of like this, but maybe not all in a straight line:

I would have these photos come from some friends and some from my collection.  They would be of scenery in places we have lived or visited.  I’ve got a great one of the Eiffel tower I took when we were in Paris that I think would look good as a black and white.

My friend Kim, who used to live in KC has a great black and white shot of the old Western Auto building that I think will look nice..  Now all that I’m missing is something “Iowa” and “DC”.  I don’t have any scenic pictures but I found a good photographer who does, so as long as he doesn’t cost and arm and a leg I may buy one of his prints.  I’m hopeful my friend Amanda took some good DC shots before she left.  If not thats OK…we will be in Yellowstone and Rome soon so I can finish off my picture collage there.

Do you have any photos we could use?  Outside of Kansas City, Iowa, Buffalo, DC, and Paris we have only been to tropical locations and those don’t photograph in black and white as well as they should.  What do you think?   I think this is a better option that some generic artwork from Ikea, and it can grow as we grow…we definitely have the wall space for it! 

Comments

  1. Albert and I actually have some great black and whites, and ones that translate well to black and white. We have a series of six black and white framed photos that we had in our apartment, and just haven’t hung yet in our house. I’ll check with him on Iowa photos, too. I’d be surprised if we didn’t have something.

    • Awesome! Are your photos of KC? If I remember correctly you had some photos of Paris…maybe those are the ones which haven’t been hung yet??

      If you can remember (ha-ha) maybe you can bring prints to MSP…or if they are digital I can look at them online.

  2. Anonymous says:

    shelving

    Hey Julie,

    Where did you find those cool shelves for your kitchen? I really like those, and we could sure use something like that ourselves.

    Dain

    p.s. I also know a really good photographer you might consider (Crystal).

    • Re: shelving

      Hey Dain, Those pictures in my post aren’t from my house…they are from Pottery Barn, if you click on them it will take you to their site. More than likely I won’t get ours from there…I typically use things like PBarn and Crate and Barrel for inspiration and find cheaper ways to go about things. A couple of friend found some similar shelves at Menards. Basically these shelves are ‘moulding shelves’…and can be fabricated from wood mouldings you can buy at your local home depot.

      would love to see any of Crystals pics…does she have any good ones of the midwest farm land???

      • Re: shelving

        We had shelving like that in our apartment when we lived in the River Market. We actually got ours at Target. They had a pretty good selection for a decent price. Didn’t break the bank like Pottery Barn would. I also got a more sleek, modern shelf online. I think I got it from http://www.redenvelope.com.

  3. Kansas City pictures

    Hey Julie! Not sure if you’re still searching for KC photos, but here’s the web site of a local artist/photographer who is a friend of ours. He’s a good Kansas boy, and has a ton of urban landscape shots, etc. of Kansas City. His web site is http://www.jonbidwell.com.

    • Re: Kansas City pictures

      Yep…I’m still looking! I may have my camera when I come in in October so hopefully I can get some of my own shots but I’ll use your friend for inspiration! ; )

Leave a Reply

