I confess, I’m bad a picking out window treatments

These things are going to be the end of me. I give up.  Yesterday we had a nice man come install our roman shades in the living room.  I have discussed before that I’ve lived in a constant state of confusion as to what would be appropriate for this window.  All I knew is that a big ugly valance with dirty curtains was not a good option.  I’m also tired of blinds…we have ‘wood’ blinds all over the house and although lovely and practical they just don’t give that sense of WOW when you walk in a room.

$500 later I’m still not liking what I have but I’m too stingy to change it.  I think the fabric looks cheap and I wish I would have sprung for the blackout liner, not because we have a lot of light streaming through but because I think it would have made the fabric look less cheap.  I guess the blind company I used gets their shades from JCPenny’s…I’ve been there before and wasn’t so pleased.  I should have known better.  To top it off I think the window looks like crap from the outside of the house when the shades are pulled down.  Arg!

So whats a girl to do?  Well this girl is just going to suck it up and keep them until we redo this room many years to come (my great hope is that once we finish with this all house renovation/updating we can visit a room a year instead of trying to do it all at once).  Maybe by then we will have $$ to have a professional to come in and help us out.

Leave a Reply

