Day 1 – Fresh Mountain Air

Oh it is so good for the soul. 

I arrived yesterday in Denver with litle fan fare which was nice considering I almost didn’t make it out of BWI because there was a fuel leak.  They initially said we were going to have a 2 hour delay but then some genius mechanic found a loose screw and the problem was solved in 10 minutes.  If I had that guy/girls name I would write them a thank you note because they saved my trip.  I got to Detroit on time and didn’t even have to take the stupid trammy thing from one end of the terminal to the other.  I’m glad I got to walk from gate 70 to 25…did my legs some good.

Last night after the 2 hour drive from the airport with a pit stop to get some groceries we got accommodated in our condo.  This place rocks…so clean, so nicely decorated.  Kitchen is functional and pretty.  Not to mention a complete bargain at less than $700 for the 3 night weekend.  Royce and I cooked dinner last night for Al and Katie.  We had Steak Au Poivre, maple glazed carrots, mashed potatoes and a spinach salad with goat cheese.  Tonight we are going out because they can’t eat meat because it is friday and lucky us there is a mexican restaurantright below our unit so I have a feeling that is where we will end up.

Once we get our act together this AM we are going to head out to the ski shop and inquire about rentals and maybe some lessons.  I may just stick with Royce as my teacher and the bunny hill.  There isn’t too much snow covering the ground right now, actually none…but the guy said that 80% of their trails are open.  Wish me luck.  I have a feeling I’m going to spend more time on my butt than my feet but that’s OK.

Leave a comment