Drapery dilemmas

Picking out window coverings sucks. 

I’m to the point of hiring someone to come in and fit our gigantic sliding glass door and our living room windows (again gigantic) with something suitable.  My first problem was that I tried to do it cheaply and well, cheap drapes are…cheap!  They don’t hang right, the liner isn’t sewn in right so it pulls in weird ways and you can see the liner peek out from the sides…must I go on?  After just a little shopping I was appalled at how expensive these things are…custom ones (probably what we really need) are even worse.  So I stuck with JCPenny and got 4  reasonably priced panels with the thought of sewing them together to make 2 big panels, but after I hung them yesterday I hate them.  They look so nice in the picture don’t  they?  Well no amount of steaming or fiddling could make my drapes hang as nicely as those.  Face it, cheap fabric doesn’t have the weight to it that is needed to create a nice hang.

Now I am back at square one and I’m not a happy shopper.

Leave a Reply

