Sentimental memories

I’ve joined a community band here. I know…I’m a dork, but I didn’t realize how much I missed playing until I picked my horn up this past summer to play with a woodwind quintet at work (we play for the various FDA awards ceremonies etc). One of our substitute flutists called me up because her community band was in need of some more clarinets so I decided to give it a whirl.

My first rehearsal was last night. We rehearse at Blake High School…I don’t think I’ve stepped foot in a HS since I graduated. Man, what a flood of memories. It’s amazing how things never change. Kids are still running around in the music department as they were when I was at LSHS. It is their Musical season, so there was lots of commotion, and I remember all that so fondly…the late nights at school rehearsing…goofing around with friends…hanging out in the pit studying during breaks.

Even though it was me and a bunch of old dorky band geeks we had a blast. The conductor is great; he is the band teacher there at the high school and a native of Topeka Kansas so that automatically makes him a good guy. He is no Jim Oliver, but he is close to being Kirt Mosier but not as hot. We even played Sleigh Ride which will always have a place in my heart since we played it every Christmas season in High School. The surprising thing is I think this band is better than the band at Drake. We played some really good, difficult stuff and it didn’t sound half-bad for a group that only rehearses once a week. I’ve obviously got some practicing to do but I sure like my place in the front row even though I haven’t occupied a seat like that since 1996.

Comments

  1. Anonymous says:

    Hello Julie

    Well Well Well. Every once in a while I do a word search on my name over the internet. It helps me find out who is playing my works. I found this Live Journal page of “Sentimental” memories. It mentions my name in context of being “hot”. I never thought of my teaching techniques as “hot”. This will be one to remember. Good to hear you’re doing well.

    Mr. M

Leave a Reply

