gearing up for some turkey

First I must premise that waking up at 6 AM to find that your husband (who should have been home by 3 AM) is not home yet…is not a fun way to start the day.  Thankfully he just got stuck at work longer than desired and is now home safely sleeping soundly.

Since I was up, I decided to get a head start on the crowds and get my Thanksgiving dinner goods.  I’m kinda liking all these holidays alone, they allow me to experiment so that someday…when I do have people come visit…I’ll be 100% prepared for a great dinner.  Until that day many moons from now it will just be the two of us.

I usually stick with the basics for holiday dinners, but each year I like to try something new with at least 1-2 dishes.  This year I’m going to try a brine for the turkey.  Brining seems to be all the rage so I’ll give it a whirl.  Its much safer than frying a turkey and actually looks fairly simple, nothing short of a bigmarinade.  I’m also going to try a new stuffing, which is really just a spin on Mom’s stuffing with some added mushrooms.  I got this one from Rachel Rays best stuffing contest.  The staples this year are gravy (of course!) greenbeen cassarole, and Mom’s baked sweet potatoes.  We have a fancy bakery down the street so I think I’ll hit them up for some roles since I haven’t figured out how to make my own yet.  Maybe next year…

I’m also going to try a pecan pie instead of a pumpkin pie.  Royce loves pecan pie so it’s a surprise for him.  I also had pumpkin pie when I was home for the wedding (thanks MOM!) and we also just finished a pumpkin cheesecake which someone brought to us for our housewarming party.  So I’m a bit pumpkined out at the moment…I thought that would never happen!  

And for those of you just dying to know if I went to Home Depot today…the answer is YES!  Of course!  I had to get a bucket for the turkey brine after-all…

Leave a Reply

