Lazy weekend

It’s been a pretty calm weekend here.  Temperatures have finally dropped so going outside is a bit more tolerable than it was earlier in the week.  We took advantage of the opportunity and walked Friday night to our nearby coffee shop Mayorga to read.  I think this is one of the last standing independent coffee places in DC as Starbucks and Caribou are slowly taking over the world.  It was an interesting evening as a new ‘club’ had opened up next door and a lot of their scantily-clad clients were stopping into the coffee shop.  Prime people watching, which we love!  

 

On our way home I couldn’t resist stopping at  Moorenkos Ice Cream.  Last nights flavor of choice was Orange Creamsicle…pretty much tasted exactly like those orange push-up pops you would get from the Schwan’s man when we were kids.  Yum!  I can’t believe this place was within walking distance and it took me 2 years to discover it, I need to work on my ice cream radar obviously its not as good as my mexi-dar (finding good mexican restaurants).  

 

What’s on the table:  Only lunch today…fish taco’s.  Although her personality is a bit annoying, I’ll give Rachel Ray a lot of credit here.  Her recipes are easy and never disappoint the taste buds.  

 

What I’m reading:  I’m about to finish up A Million Little Pieces by James Frey. Regardless of the fiction/non-fiction scandal, this is a good story.  I’m inspired by the strength of the protagonist to not blame someone or something else for his addiction.   It’s a breath of fresh air in a time where it’s acceptable to push blame and point fingers instead of coming to terms with a fault or accepting failures.

Leave a Reply

